The Shop > Altered Eagles

Thinking of a solid front axel......

(1/8) > >>

Mechanic:
 :help:

Alright guys, buckle up for a long technically laden post.

So, I'm planning on building a trail dedicated rig this summer, quite soon actually. I'm hopping to catch the tail end of the off road season up here. And I'm planning on building it out of an SX/4(no, not my 81 SX/4, I will hopefully be getting another one). Oh, and I'm doing this on a very tight budget for now, that could change if people by some of my vehicles, but for now. Keep things on the cheap.

So, my question to all you folk, in a very broad sense, is how should I build this? I've never built a trail rig before and I'm not all that gutsy when it comes to modification either. I can fabricate and install most anything, but I would need dimensions and where they go ect. I'm just not brave enough to rip it all down and then build it back up fabricating and modifying as needed.

Now, for a quick tool summary, so you guys know what I'm capable of before I move on.
-MIG welder with argon gas
-240 stick welder (not bad at welding either)
-OXY Eseteline torch (good with this to)
-all hand tools
-chop saw
-drill press
-a brand new lathe that we haven't put together or tried yet
-heated shop

Alright, now on to the technical questions.... I was originally planning on just doing a 2 inch lift, some 31" tires if they would fit, a Lincoln locked rear diff and a NP229 with the floor......... Adjusted for the speedo cable.

But now I'm thinking that the lift might not be sufficient, and the tire size not quite big enough for some of the trails around here, and I wouldn't dare put bigger than 31's on a slightly lifted eagle because of the half shafts and the weak 2 piece rear end.

So just the last day or so, I've been thinking solid Axel swap. There are a couple Grand Wagoneers in the Pick N Pull and on for sale for parts cheap on kijiji. And maybe if I could find it, an ford 8.8 if I could find the proper gear ratio.